Meet our members

RuDASA has an active Executive Committee, as well as a National Advisory Committee of Provincial Representatives and Portfolio bearers. The committee administrates and manages RuDASA through transparent and inclusive mechanisms that encourage all RuDASA members to contribute their experiences and opinions.

Provincial Representatives function as a link between provincial health care workers and the RuDASA Executive committee. The reps report provincial issues that require RuDASA attention to the National Advisory Committee and communicate back to provincial health care workers/members. The reps coordinate the Provincial RuDASA Committee and facilitate periodical provincial committee meetings by telecon or otherwise. The reps also act as the face for RuDASA in the province for local health care workers, government, stakeholders and the media, and represent RuDASA in provincial events, such as meetings with the Provincial Department of Health.

Provinces are encouraged to set up provincial committees to reach more health care workers via email and teleconferences, in order to amplify grassroots voices at a national level, provide feedback from the national committee and to obtain representative opinions on key issues from health care workers at district & sub-district level. This improves transparency, and ensures that the issues at district level link with the national committee.


Members of the 2 committees have 6 teleconferences annually, where organisational and advocacy-related matters are discussed. 

Executive Committee 2017-2018  Name Email
Chairperson Dr. Mosa Moshabela  JLIB_HTML_CLOAKING
Rural Health Conference Dr Lungi Hobe   
Most Recent  Chair Dr. Desmond Godisamang Kegakilwe  
RuDASA Office Coordinator  Stephanie Homer infoJLIB_HTML_CLOAKING
Secretary  Abigail Dreyer  JLIB_HTML_CLOAKING
Member Dr Ndiviwe Mphothulo  
Treasurer  Dr Jayne Bezuidenhout  JLIB_HTML_CLOAKING
RHAP Russell van Rensburg JLIB_HTML_CLOAKING
National Advisory Committee: Portfolios
Student liaison

Sihle Nyawose (UKZN)

Stop Stock Outs Project  Dr. Indira Govender and Dr. Karl le Roux  
Rural Mental Health Campaign Dr Meba Kanda  
Rural Doctor of the Year Office Co-ordinator  JLIB_HTML_CLOAKING


National Advisory Committee: Provincial Representatives  
Gauteng Dr Meba Kanda
Free State Dr Dirk Hagemeister  & Dr Teboho Nstepe
Eastern Cape  Dr Karl le Roux
Mpumalanga  Dr Joven Ongole 
Western Cape 

Dr Johann Schoever & Dr Klaus von Pressentin

KZN  Dr Jayne Bezuidenhout  
North-West  Dr Mphothulo
Northern Cape   

Print Email